Fallen Huron Law Enforcement Officers Among Those Remembered at Peace Officers Memorial Day Ceremony

Law enforcement officials from across South Dakota gathered in Pierre Wednesday to remember sacrifice made by the 69 law enforcement officers killed in the line of duty during the 2019 South Dakota Law Enforcement Officers Memorial Service. Major Rick Miller with the South Dakota Highway Patrol read from the proclamation made by Governor Kristi Noem in honor of Peace Officers Memorial Day.

Keynote Speaker South Dakota Attorney General Jason Ravnsborg says it’s important that everyone remember what the fallen officers have given to keep us safe.

Three Huron police officers have died in the line of duty- Officer Clifford Hawley (1909), Deputy Chief of Police Virgil Deyo (1966), and Sergeant Thomas Callies (1982). 


Tags: , , ,